ICC Champions Trophy: Pakistan to host 2025 Champions Trophy; India get 3 ICC events in next cycle including 2026 World T20 | Cricket News

Must read

DUBAI: Main cricket occasion will return to Pakistan after greater than 20 years with the nation set to host the 2025 Champions Trophy, an ICC flagship match.
The ICC board on Tuesday awarded the internet hosting rights of the 2025 Champions Trophy to Pakistan, whereas choosing america and West Indies as co-host of the 2024 T20 World Cup. This would be the first ever international occasion hosted in North America.
In line with the announcement, India will get to host three ICC occasions within the subsequent cycle, together with the 2026 T20 World Cup and 2031 50-over World Cup, the place the nation will likely be Co hosts together with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh respectively. India may also host the 2029 Champions Trophy singularly.

Pakistan, who had final co-hosted the 1996 World Cup together with India and Sri Lanka, haven’t been in a position to host many worldwide video games within the nation for the reason that 2009 terrorist assault on Sri Lankan staff bus in Lahore.
The Champions Trophy was final held within the UK in 2017 and it is going to be making its return within the ICC calendar after a spot of eight years.
New Zealand and England have not too long ago pulled out of a tour of the nation and it is going to be attention-grabbing to see if groups lastly get able to journey to Pakistan.
“In all chances, they may should host within the UAE,” a supply stated as there will definitely be a sure diploma of reluctance to journey to that a part of the world.

The sport’s governing physique on Tuesday stated that as many as 14 ICC members will host ICC males’s occasions from 2023 to 2031.
“11 Full Members and three Affiliate Members have been chosen to host two ICC Males’s Cricket World Cups, 4 ICC Males’s T20 World Cups and two ICC Males’s Champions Trophy occasions,” the apex physique stated in a launch.
“The USA and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup occasion for the primary time. While Australia, Bangladesh, England, Eire, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe have beforehand staged main occasions and can accomplish that once more over the subsequent decade.”
ICC Chair Greg Barclay thanked each member that submitted a bid and congratulated the profitable bidders.
“To have 14 Members internet hosting 8 occasions is a mirrored image of the actually international nature of our sport,” he stated.
“It’s implausible to be returning to so many earlier hosts, however what is de facto thrilling about this course of is the international locations who will stage ICC occasions for the primary time together with the USA which is a strategic progress marketplace for us.
“This offers us the chance to deepen our reference to followers in conventional cricket nations and in addition attain new followers world wide.”
The hosts have been chosen through a aggressive bidding course of overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden together with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt.
The ICC Board accepted the suggestions of the committee who carried out an intensive evaluate of every bid together with ICC administration.
An analogous course of to establish the hosts for ICC Ladies’s and U19s occasions for the subsequent cycle will likely be undertaken early subsequent 12 months.
Ricky Skerritt, Cricket West Indies President and ICC Board member stated: “The success of this joint bid by CWI and USA Cricket will likely be an enormous enhance for our cricket. It provides an important strategic alternative to advertise and develop cricket, and associated industrial exercise, in North America and the Caribbean…”
The awarding of the occasions to most well-liked hosts is topic to the completion of the host agreements and the ICC will now work intently with Members to finalise preparations.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article