ICC Team of the Tournament 2021: No Indian included in ICC’s ‘Team of Tournament’ as Babar Azam named ‘captain’ | Cricket News

Must read

DUBAI: No Indian cricketer figured within the ICC’s T20 World Cup ‘Workforce of the Event’ which includes gamers from six totally different international locations, together with Sri Lanka and South Africa, with Pakistan’s Babar Azam being named ‘captain’ of the squad.
India have been ousted on the group league stage after being thrashed by Pakistan and New Zealand earlier than successful three inconsequential video games in opposition to Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia.

The jury members didn’t suppose any of the Indian gamers deserving to be picked whereas South Africa’s Aiden Markram and Anirch Nortje and Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka and Wanindu Hasaranga have been the gamers whose groups did not qualify for the semi-finals however fore the ICC group.
Stars gamers from champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan additionally characteristic within the star-studded line up.
Opening batter and ‘Participant of the Event’ David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and seamer Josh Hazlewood all made the reduce for Australia after serving to steer their facet to their first ever T20 World Cup title.

There have been additionally spots for England’s Jos Buttler as wicketkeeper and New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult, in addition to Pakistan’s Babar as captain and Sri Lanka star Hasaranga — the event’s main wicket-taker — within the line-up.
One of many jury members, former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop, stated: “As with all group choice there shall be various opinions, and sturdy dialogue on the ultimate composition of the squad.

“The panel respects that, and we encourage the sturdy debate that may ensue. This group was extremely tough to pick out over such a extremely aggressive event. Choices have been based mostly predominantly on the Tremendous 12 onward to the ultimate.”

The Workforce
David Warner (Australia)
Jos Buttler (wk) (England)
Babar Azam (captain, Pakistan)
Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka)
Aiden Markram (South Africa)
Moeen Ali (England)
Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)
Adam Zampa (Australia)
Josh Hazlewood (Australia)
Trent Boult (New Zealand)
Anrich Nortje (South Africa)
twelfth: Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan)

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article